.

Proposed Final East Penn Budget Available for Review

East Penn Board of School Directors will vote on final 2012-2013 budget at June 25 meeting.

The East Penn Board of School Directors has been on a brief meeting hiatus due to the Memorial Day holiday this week.

At the board’s last meeting on May 14, the board adopted the proposed final 2012-2013 budget in the amount of $125,195,028. That budget, which includes a 1.9 percent tax hike, is available for public review in the following ways:

  • By visiting the , Monday through Friday between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. (excluding school holidays)
  • Through the East Penn School District web site
  • At the
  • At the .

Will you review the proposed final budget before the board votes in June?

The next meeting of the East Penn Board of School Directors is on Monday, June 11 at 7:30 p.m. in the District Administrative Offices. The board will vote on the final 2012-2013 budget at its June 25 meeting.

ted.dobracki May 30, 2012 at 02:59 PM
It's troubling that the school district would pass a budget with a $4 million defiicit, even without spending any of the $6 million reserve. It would be a $10 million deficit if all of the reserve was spent.
Lynn Faust May 30, 2012 at 08:36 PM
What bothers me is that there is a reserve and yet EVERY year the school board increases our taxes. In addition there is also the county tax increase and people are not getting raises to keep up with this. Also, many people have lost their jobs due to the economy.
Steve Godusky June 01, 2012 at 12:43 AM
Please everyone, tell the people (the board of directors) that refuse to listen to trim the fat! They really like an open checkbook and do not think of taxpayers. Come election time get rid of them. They did enough damage to the taxpayers. We all must live within our means, why can't they. Clean out the waste.
for real June 01, 2012 at 12:59 AM
Sorry Steve you can't accuse a district that managed to spend less this year than last year even with rising costs of not controlling spending (trimming the fat). That is nonsense. Thanks for getting to the heart of the matter which is election politics. At least you admit that.
Steve Godusky June 01, 2012 at 09:12 PM
for real hides behind a screen name. Don't be afraid to show who you are. Also any time you want to buy anything just tell your boss you need the money and I am sure he will give it to you. It works for the school board. They just take money out of our wallets and purses. I guess you are happy with that.
for real June 02, 2012 at 12:36 AM
That's right Steve I use a screen name. You are blinded; probably by your CEPTA buddies. I loathe tax raises and over spending. Looking at the this district, I see the leadership working hard for a ballance. I'll take a tax raise that it is much less than most districts after a the effort they have gone through to save money. enjoy your ingonrant bliss.
Steve Godusky June 03, 2012 at 01:12 AM
First of all for real do not be afraid to hide behind a screen name. At least I am man enough to show who I am, you are a coward. Also I do not know anyone from Cepta. You are welcome to pay tax increases. Let the rest of us pay less. Maybe you should learn how to spell. Check out ignorant in your comment. Maybe that is why you hide behind a screen name.
for real June 03, 2012 at 01:55 AM
Yes Steve you are such a man because you use your real name on a blog and I'm a coward. Just curious, what is the difference? What would you do if you knew my real name? Would there be some kind of retribution? Looking at the different blogs around, it looks like it's about 50-50. Lots of cowards out there I guess. Thanks for also pointing our your spelling superiority. Is it possible that was a typo? I guess I'm just out of my league here. Nice ego! Blogs are places to exchange ideas and really do not require names. Good for you for seeing it differently.
for real June 03, 2012 at 01:57 AM
look I also typed our when I meant to type out. Yikes what other serious errors might I commit today?
Jeff Lotte June 03, 2012 at 03:56 PM
I think the point is that ALL of the teachers make a salary that is well above the median income for the area. The administration also makes a real fat salary. Most regular every day working people had to make many sacrifices over the past few years to make ends meet because of inflation, unemployment numbers and stagnant wage increases, or worse yet but true in many many cases, they took a CUT in pay. A large number of businesses made adjustments to their employees wages and benefit packages to keep afloat.What has this school district done to "stay with the times"? ...and before anyone answers with " well _____ school district raised theirs" this is totally irrelevant, I do live in East Penn and could care less what other communities allow their "ruling class" to inflict upon them.
for real June 03, 2012 at 04:29 PM
Teachers in East Penn on a pay freeze. The district is spending less on this present budget than they did last year even though costs have gone up because they made adjustments. Some adjustments: Increased class sizes by not replacing teachers, no longer printing calendars and report cards, ended some summer programs, entergy savings etc. You should read the school baord minutes or check out the onlind budgets. I can rarely make board meetings but I try to read as much as I can. Be careful to avoid some of the untruths floating around. They had me fooled for a while.
for real June 03, 2012 at 04:37 PM
Per capita income is a terrible comparison. It measures everybody including non workers. Better to take a look at the typical homeowner income in the district since they pay a lot of the taxes: From a website from 2011. The info. is slightly outdated: http://www.teachersalaryinfo.com/pennsylvania/teacher-salary-in-east-penn-school- district/Median income of a home owner in East Penn: $64,958
Jeff Lotte June 04, 2012 at 01:29 AM
Your comment makes no sense, first of all, the home owners pay all of the taxes I think. Second, why would you not include the "non workers". There is many retired people living on a fixed income (not everyone enjoys the perks of working for government or school districts.) I'm talkin about cuts for the big paychecks in the district, not putting the kids out as usual. Cut administrators pay by 5% across the board, let them pay for their own cell phones, let them pay more towards their medical coverage. You seem to think you know the numbers, what is the total administrative salary part of the budget at the high school alone? How many principals and assistant principals are there in the high school? How many administrative assistants do they have? This is ONE school that I ask about. There is tons of fat trimming that could and should happen before the kids suffer any losses of programs, any losses of reasonable class sizes, and we could go on and on with examples of wasteful spending within the administration alone that should be slashed before we even think about cutting programs and activities for the kids, that is what our taxes are supposed to be payin for, not Mercedes and Mc Mansion payments.
Jeff Lotte June 04, 2012 at 01:30 AM
BTW, yeah I saw the "pay freezes" it sounds alot different in words than it works out on paper though. And as I stated more than once here, the ADMINISTRATION is where cuts need to be made, there is much fat trimming to be done there alone that would decrease the budget without anyone noticing any difference in their kids education.
for real June 04, 2012 at 10:39 AM
Right Jeff, like I said and like you said home owners pay taxes so that is a good number to look at. - district/Median income of a home owner in East Penn: $64,958. How is it that you come to know so much about admin. costs and what should be cut? EP has cut administrative costs since last year.
Jeff Lotte June 04, 2012 at 09:07 PM
For real, I did not mention administrative costs, I said SALARIES. Big difference, although cutting the salaries would indeed cut "costs".
Garrett Rhoads June 05, 2012 at 04:38 AM
The average salary for an EPSD teacher is $67K per year + benefits. When using the state supplied multiplier of 1.44 to account for benefits, this equals an AVERAGE COST of $96,840 per teacher! I have had the pleasure of getting to know many of these teachers at Willow Lane and they are all excellent educators. The point being made is that they are no longer "underpaid". They have salary and benefit packages that most of us would love to have. Once upon a time, teachers were underpaid and were offered a nice pension to compensate for low income. Today, they have higher than normal incomes AND generous benefits to boot. Enough is enough. The argument is that, "if we don't pay them, they will leave...". Not valid. For every opening we have in East Penn, we have 300 qualified applicants. Supply is high and demand is low. I love and appreciate our educational staff and I know they care about our children. I simply fear that they have allowed their union to rape the forgotten taxpayer in the process.
Garrett Rhoads June 05, 2012 at 04:40 AM
They froze their COLA raises. They still get the "step" and "column" increases you twit. Smoke and Mirrors...
truth seeker June 05, 2012 at 11:14 AM
Rape is an intersting verb to use in this case. I wonder when the cost of gas goes up are the oil companies raping you or as medical costs go out of control are doctors, nurses and drug companies raping us? Just curious is this is a term you utlilize in describing only unions? Is Governor Corbett and the state raping block grants and charter school reimbursements these last 2 years or do we use a different verb?
for real June 05, 2012 at 11:26 AM
Sorry Garrett, this year we are in now teachers are not getting step or column increases. Duh! More CEPTA lies?
Garrett Rhoads June 05, 2012 at 04:59 PM
I am not a member of CEPTA and I would appreciate it if you would not ASSume to know anything about me since you obviously don't. I am nothing more that a concerned citizen and a pissed off taxpayer. Perhaps if you had enough intestinal fortitude to let the public know who you were, we might take your comments seriously. You are nothing more than a coward and a shill for the PSEA.
Garrett Rhoads June 05, 2012 at 05:43 PM
How on earth do you use comparisons of gas (a commodity with limited availablity), healthcare (the cost of which is rife with regulation and litigation), and other short term federal "gimmees" (TARP funds) to associate with the cost of education? Your argument makes no sense. What the public needs to know is WHY the cost of education continues to spiral out of control. The answer is labor costs. It accounts for over 50% of our budget.
truth seeker June 05, 2012 at 06:09 PM
Charter school reimbursement and the block grants were not TARP funds. They were in place well before TARP. I know your folks want everybody to believe that the state is innocent and never cut aything but rather it was all 1 time stimulus money that disappeared. My previous post was not a comparison, it was a questioning of your use of the word rape. I was just curious if you apply that to other cost increases.
Garrett Rhoads June 05, 2012 at 07:16 PM
1) I have no "folks". I speak for myself as a free and independent citizen. To assume that I am part of a greater conspiracy is absurd. 2) We can agree that the state's abandonment of it's financial responsibility to our educational system is abhorrent. It disgusts me that an unfair portion of state taxpayer money gets funneled into failing school districts in large cities to buy votes at the detriment of our own youth. I will be working with some of our state representatives this year to try to help solve the problem, including a door to door petition campaign. 3) As for your questioning of my use of the word rape; until you have the cataclysmic event of that most unfortunate act perpetrated upon one of your loved ones (as I have), I would think it unwise of you to question my syntax. Maybe one day you'll have the courage and honor to let the rest of the readers of this board actually know who you are. Until then, I consider your posts to be marginal at best, and not worth the time it takes to read them. Any cowardly radical with an opinion can post anonymously. It takes a "stand up" citizen to put their name on a public post. I proudly volunteer time and money in my community including at my children's school (Willow Lane). The EPSD taxpayers know who I am and I make no apologies for my opinions. What say you?
truth seeker June 05, 2012 at 09:56 PM
I feel awful for any victim of such an act. You can feel however you like about my screen name or posts, I don't care. Also, not sure where you get anything about a conspiracy. I never said that. You pick interesting words and sometimes make up facts to make your points. Any plans to run for office?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something